Is a relay node what I need to talk to my smart TV?

I’m trying to wrap my head around relay nodes, because they sound like they might be a solution for my problem. I have multiple family computers on a Tailscale network, include my home NAS. However, I can’t really install Tailscale on my Samsung smart TV, so I figured I would just expose the NAS to my LAN since the TV and NAS are on the same network.

But reading up on relay nodes, specifically this article, it says “you may have machines you don’t want to, or cannot, install Tailscale on directly,” which sounds like my situation. So assuming I make my NAS act like a relay, then what? I guess it would still have to be exposed to the LAN, but what do I get by advertising the subnet?

Sorry if I got some of these details wrong. I’m a newbie to networking, so I’m still trying to navigate all this. Thank you!

I would look into a OpenWRT Router, they are cheap and really do the job. Fortunately, there is already a solution for running OpenWRT and Tailscale on your whole network: GitHub - adyanth/openwrt-tailscale-enabler: Install Tailscale on OpenWRT other than that, there is GLiNet, which provides Wireguard routers on OpenWRT basis for pretty good prices (with an easy to use GUI), I can only recommend them especially because they´re having a hard time because of their location. Support them if you can, but see if you can run OpenWRT or, if you can spare a Laptop (or any old pc), OPNSense, and run Tailscale on that.

I was hoping the response wouldn’t be around running tailscale on a router. Thank you though – I’ll take that into consideration. We have three routers in the house right now, where one of them is the modem/router from our ISP. Replacing one of them with one I could install software is something of a last resort.