Newby...accessing specific computer on my network

Hi All,
Total newbie here on Tailscale. I have a network with three computers, one iPhone, and three Synology NAS. I have installed Tailscale on all three computers, my iPhone, and the NASs.
When I look at the “machines” list for Tailscale, I can see all but one of the devices above, and all visible show “connected”. The one computer I can not “see” is located behind a switch (however, the three NASs are located behind the same switch and I can see them.)
As mentioned above, I have installed Tailscale on all devices.
Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong…or what I need to do?
Thankx
Note: I can see/access this “invisible” computer using regular Windows 10 features.

Hi! I am also a newbie. We have a tailscale mesh.The company’s headquarters is a Synology NAS.MACs easily add tailscale to the VPN, as do iPhones and Android phones.We access all of them and see the directories on the NAS from each of them. Win 11 machines also appear in the machine room and connect.However, nothing happens when I click on the icon, and I can only access the NAS from the browser, not the folders directly, even though I need it to work. What I have to do?

If it’s not showing in the Tailscale control page you probably want to check it’s connected correctly. I had a user who has logged into their personal account rather than the company one on more than one occasion so while they were connected to Tailscale, they weren’t connected to the company network.
If unsure, log out and log in again or use a key from the control page to log it in.

Nicola - maybe check your DNS is working. Windows is really annoying about what it picks up and browsers are not always the same as the system. Try accessing the NAS directly by the Tailscale IP address and see if that works better then work out from there to debug.

1 Like